Team Barwell FC
Founded 1992
Nickname The Canaries
Ground Kirkby Road
Capacity 2,500 (256 Seated)
Manager Guy Hadland
League The Pitching In Premier Division Central

Two weeks after their debut in the FA Cup Qualifying First Round the Dabbers are back in action in the FA Cup, this time facing Barwell FC based in Barwell, near Hinckley Leicestershire. The Dabbers are unbeaten in all competitions since the season started this September and will be looking to have continued that run come five o’clock on Saturday afternoon.

The relatively new Barwell FC was established in 1992 as a merger of Hinckley of the Midland Combination Premier Division and Barwell Athletic of the Leicestershire Senior League Premier Division; the new club took Hinckley’s place in the Midland Combination.

In 1994 Barwell were founder members of the Midland Alliance. They won the Leicestershire and Rutland Senior Cup in 1996–97 and the League Cup in 2005–06, they won the league the following season, earning promotion to Division One South of the Northern Premier League. Their first season in the division saw them win the title, earning promotion to step three of the National League System. Instead of playing in the Northern Premier League’s Premier Division, the club were moved to the Premier Division of the Southern League. However, two seasons later, they were transferred back to the Northern Premier League.

Barwell’s best FA Cup run came in the 2015/16 season when they reached the First Round of the FA Cup for the first time in their 23 year history. They were knocked out by Welling United after losing the game 2-0 at Kirkby Road.

In the 2017/18 season, Barwell were transferred to the Premier Central Division of the South League where they have remained since.