AWARDS: Dabbers double winners at league awards night

By Ryan Batty:

Nantwich Town Football Club claimed two awards at the league’s annual awards evening on Sunday night with both Sean Cooke and Joe Malkin picking up trophies.

Malkin claimed the league’s young player of the season award and is the third Nantwich player in six years to win the award, after Matt Kosylo received the award in 2016, and Sean Cooke claiming the honour three years prior.

Joe has enjoyed a sensational first year at the Weaver Stadium, playing a key role with Nantwich’s push for promotion, scoring ten goals after the step up from Cammell Laird in the summer, where he helped the Camels to the North-West Counties Division One play-off final.

Malkin’s superb form saw him earn a contract with the Dabbers over the Christmas period, which sees him secure his immediate future in South Cheshire.

Meanwhile midfielder Cooke was picked in the 2018/19 Premier Division team of the season. He has enjoyed a fine season at the Weaver Stadium, scoring eleven goals and setting up a further nine, and has played a key role in the Dabbers’ push for promotion.

This is the third time that Cooke has been recognised by the other twenty clubs as a standout player, having been named in the top eleven in 2012/13 and 2016/17, though the former was split over Nantwich and AFC Fylde.

The club are delighted and immensely proud to see Joe and Sean win their awards, and congratulate them both for wonderful seasons.

« Back to all news

Developed By