2016/17 End of Season Awards Announced

Nantwich Town held their annual end of season awards evening yesterday, with the winners of the Player of the Season, Young Player of the Season and Goal of the Season announced amongst others.

The evening to recognise the clubs incredible season was presented by Chairman Tony Davison and the night was attended by fans, officials, the players and also the departing management duo of Phil Parkinson and Neil Sorvel, who announced their move to Altrincham last week. That was after the club had reached the semi-finals of the Evo-Stik Northern Premier Division Play-Offs, made the 1st Round of the FA Trophy, the 4th Qualifying Round of the FA Cup and the final of the Cheshire Senior Cup.

The evening began with Tony thanking all the clubs sponsors, including by not limited to:

Weaver & Bomfords
South Cheshire College
Nantwich Refrigeration Services
Applewood Independent
County Insurance
Baker Wynne & Wilson
Whitby Morrison
Johnsons the Cleaners
Simon J Newbury Photography

Tony then highlighted the league wide achievement of Andy White and Sean Cooke, who made the 2016/17 Evo-Stik Northern Premier Division Team of the Year. It marked the 2nd year in a row that White had been named to the team and it was an excellent honour for both players to represent the club.

The players then handed out their match worn shirts to the groups and individuals who sponsored them over the course of the season:

Dan Gyollai – The Donalds
Andy White – Stephen Morris, Dave Walker & Andy Wisely
Ibou Touray – Pat Bacon
Ben Harrison – NTISA
Curtis Jones – Roger Akam (Nantwich Window Cleaning)
Matt Bell – Dan Owen, Grant Richards & Carl Thorpe
Wayne Riley – Dan Cole
Sam Hall – Cllr Arthur Moran
Josh Hancock – Roger Akam (Nantwich Window Cleaning)
Sean Cooke – NTFC Stewards
Joe Mwasile – Stephen Wilkinson
Steve Jones – Ian Garnett
Phil Parkinson, Neil Sorvel & Danny Griggs – David Jackson
Chris Parkes – Stephen Wilkinson

The presentations started with the NTISA awards. The final Player of the Month award, for April, went to Steve Jones, who finished the season with 3 goals in 4 appearances over the course of the month:

Next was the winner of the overall Player of the Month award. The winner was Matt Bell, who collected his award from Rob Woods of NTISA:

The award for the Fan of the Year, as voted for by NTISA members, was given to Roger Akam for his fantastic support and backing throughout the season. He unfortunately was unwell and wasn’t able to be in attendance. The award was collected by his wife:

The awards turned back to the players. The coveted Goal of the Season award went to Ben Harrison for his stunning strike against Stourbridge back in August:

The Golden Moment of the Season went to Sean Cooke for his 94th minute winner against Warrington Town in September. The Dabbers trailed 2-0 after 78 minutes, but Cooke(82) and Curtis Jones(86) had levelled the scores heading into injury time. With virtually the last kick of the game, Cooke curled in a trademark free kick to win the match and send Dabbers fans home happy:

Following this, there was a video presentation by new shirt sponsors County Insurance. The video even featured a cameo from Sean Cooke, much to the amusement of everyone. The evening then had a break, with everyone enjoying a curry provided by South Cheshire College.

The awards then recommenced with Sean Cooke picking up yet another accolade, winning the clubs 2016/17 top goalscorer award. He finished with 21 goals in 39 appearances. Dabbers TV caught 18 of them:

Next up was the Management’s Player of the Year. The winner was Sean Cooke:

The award for the Players Player of the Season was announced, with Matt Bell taking home the prize as voted for by his team mates. Bell put in consistently strong displays and deservedly picked up the award. We captured some of his best moments from the season:

The penultimate award was the Young Player of the Season. There was a strong field of choices, with the final 5 coming down to Sean Cooke, Curtis Jones, Joel Stair, Ibou Touray and Joe Mwasile.

In third place was Curtis Jones. The runner up went to Sean Cooke. But the winner went to Ibou Touray, who had an outstanding season at left back, missing just 5 games all season:

The last of the major awards was the prestiguous Fans Player of the Season Award. After a closely run contest, with votes cast online and via paper ballot, an incredibly close winner was chosen by just 2 votes.

3rd place: Curtis Jones
2nd place: Ben Harrison
Winner: Andy White

White added to his ever growing trophy cabinet by collecting the Player of the Season award for the 3rd straight year. He can now add it to his mountain of accolades that he has collected over the time spent with the Dabbers.

Upon the conclusion of the awards, the evening was to end in special fashion. Tony Davison handed out thanks on behalf of the club to all those that contributed this season, from the fans, to the behind the scenes volunteers and finally to the players and management. It was at this point that Matt Bell came onto the stage and asked for all the players and management to join him. The team then received a much deserved standing ovation from the fans for their achievements over the last 1-2 years.

Phil Parkinson stepped forward and gave an emotional speech, talking about what he, the management and players had managed to achieve this season and how hard it was for him to leave the club he had played for and managed to great success. He now leaves to take up his new role as manager of league rivals Altrincham. We wish him all the best once again and look forward to welcoming him back to the Weaver Stadium next season.

It was a fitting end to what had been an incredible period for the club and wrapped up a superb evening in perfect fashion. With that, the evening came to a close and we now start looking ahead to next season.

The club would like to take the time to thank everyone who contributed during the course of the season who wasn’t able to attend the evening. Your support, dedication and passion is much appreciated. We hope everyone was able to enjoy this season and we look forward to welcoming supporters back in July for our first pre-season friendlies.

Award winners in summary:

NTISA Player of the Month Overall winner – Matt Bell
Supporter of the Year – Roger Akam
Goal of the Season – Ben Harrison v Stourbridge
Golden Moment – Sean Cooke v Warrington Town(Away, League)
Top Goalscorer – Sean Cooke
Management Team Player of the Year – Sean Cooke
Players Player of the Year – Matt Bell
Supporters Young Player of the Year – Ibou Touray
Supporters Player of the Year – Andy White

« Back to all news

Developed By